h1

Top Ten of 2011

January 2, 2012

Last year, I kept a log of all my fim viewings at theaters, in classes, or on TV or dvd at home. My total for the year was 115. I’ve decided now to post my personal Top Ten for the year for the first time ever. My list is naturally limited to just the films I saw, but also includes anything I saw for the first time. Thus, films from the past can make the list. See what you think and offer your responses and lists if you’d like.

Tom Slater’sTop 10 for 2011:

1. Take Shelter.
2. J. Edgar
3 True Grit (Coen Bros., 2010)
4. The Unbearable Lightness of Being (Philip Kauffman, 1988).
5. L’Avventura (Michelangelo Antonioni, 1960)
6. Disgrace (Jacobs, 2009)
7. From Morning to Midnight (1920)
8. The Descendants
9. The Trip
10. The Muppet Movie

What does this all add up to? I don’t know. I’m not going speculate on trends or what these titles say about me or my viewing. I’ll just say that while some critics talk about 2011 as an average year or whatever, I think there’s a lot of great artists putting a lot of dedicated effort into their work and I really enjoyed these films and many more. Ten titles is an arbitrary limit anyhow, but it works. There’s much more I wish I could’ve seen, and if anyone happens to look at this list and wonder about any titles not present, it could just be that I didn’t have a chance to see them. If you want to talk about any titles here or not here or offer your own list, please join the conversation so we can have some fun with this and get ready for seeing a lot in 2012.

4 comments

  1. What an engaging list, Tom. I haven’t seen any of them but would certainly like to see them. The newest Muppet movie that came out in 2011 was touching, nostalgic, very funny, and endearingly self-effacing.

    I just saw “Midnight in Paris” and “Bridesmaids” and deeply enjoyed both.

    Here are some of my favorite movies of all time (in no special order):

    1. “The Seventh Seal”
    2. “Twelve Angry Men”
    3. “City Lights”
    4. “Gettysburg”
    5. “Ordinary People”
    6. “Cool Hand Luke”
    7. “The Silence of the Lambs”
    8. “The Godfather”
    9. “To Kill a Mockingbird”
    10. “The Third Man”
    11. “The Crying Game”
    12. “Shakespeare in Love”

    Thanks for sharing, Tom!

    Yours,

    David von Schlichten


  2. i would agree with “take shelter” as your top pick 100%!!! it’s still playing in buffalo, and i’ve seen it another few times since i’ve been home. i feel as though it is one of the best films i’ve seen in years!!! i’m torn on seeing “the descendants,” because i really, really, really hated “sideways”!

    did you see “martha marcy may marlene”? also, “in time,” while flawed, was far better than i expected it to be!

    and, as always, the muppets are the best!

    happy new year!
    carolyn m.


  3. Here are my top ten from last year (in ascending order):

    1. Moneyball
    2. Drive
    3. Source Code
    4. Bridesmaids
    5. Horrible Bosses
    6. The Descendants
    7. Crazy, Stupid, Love
    8. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt. 2
    9. 50/50
    10. The Devil’s Double

    I would loved to have added Take Shelter, but unfortunately I passed out that night (through no fault of the film, I assure you) and haven’t had a chance to watch it again yet.

    Brandon G.


  4. I’ve only seen one film on your list-but am interested in seeing quite a few of the others-and that was J. Edgar. I was unsure of how I felt about this film before seeing it-I had heard so much about Hoover and I wanted to see it only if the film addressed some of the ever prevalent rumours that milled (mills) about him. I feel that a biography should capture every aspect of a person’s life-personal and professional, the good, the bad, and the ugly. That is what makes life interesting and I only want to see interesting film. The performances in this film are great-Leonardo DiCaprio is fast becoming one of my top 5 favorite actors-I appreciate his range. Armi Hammer gave a very touching performance and Judi Dench was…well she is Dame Judi Dench, and she gave a powerhouse performance per usual. I really enjoyed this film and look forward to owning it on DVD.



Leave a Reply

