h1

Welcome to IUP Film Studies

August 20, 2009

I’m a film fan, film scholar, and professor in the English Dept. at Indiana U. of Pa, Indiana, PA, hometown of Jimmy Stewart and home of the Jimmy Stewart Museum  I want this blog to be used by students, friends, and colleagues at IUP and elsewhere to share thoughts, ideas, and opportunities for film stuidies and sharing a love of film on campus and off.

So, my first invitation is to all IUP colleagues and students.  I intend to post my course syllabi and related upcoming film events for the IUP community.  I plan to also inform colleagues and students of future teaching and research plans and upcoming opportunities.  I’d like to inform people about new books, essays, and other materials as well.  If there’s something you’re interested and want to discuss more or maybe borrow, let me know.  I’d like to have student groups post their film events and students post their film interests as well. 

Finally, this should be a place where faculty can post their syllabi and future course plans as well for either film/media production or film scholarship courses.  Maybe we can do more to work together, share resources, bring guest film makers and scholars to campus, and coordinate our courses so students can get greater depth in their work.  IUP should be a place where students want to come for film studies.  Let’s make it that way.

6 comments

  1. hey, Tom, this is a good idea! I’m not teaching a film class this semester, but I’ll tell my students about the site.


  2. Hey Tom,

    I don’t think we’ve met, but I’m the playwrighting guy here at the IUP Theater Dept. A committed cinephile, I’m very excited about this blog! That’s for putting this together; I look forward to checking in regularly – particularly as I’m working on a screenplay adaptation of a short story at the moment!

    Thanks


  3. Thank you for this resource.


  4. Great idea. Glad to be here.


  5. I will be showing Salvador Dali and Luis Buñuel’s film “An Andalusian Dog (1929)” (a short film lasting 17 minutes) and Theordor Dreyer’s “The Passion of Joan of Arc” on Wednesday October 7, 2009 at 5:30pm in Keith Room 231.

    While both films will undoubtedly be of interest to both students interested in film history and film enthusiasts, Dreyer’s film is of particular interest to history majors and minors because it purports to re-create the 1431 trial of Joan of Arc, based on the trial records.

    My HIST 391 (Film as History) class will meet at its regular time (5:05pm) and will join people who will have come to Keith Room 231 to view the two movies. (So, if you do not see me before 5:30, please be patient. I will arrive with my class shortly.) I will invite all attendees to join our class in discussing the two movies.


  6. Tom – I’m so pleased you have developed this! I am hoping faculty will share films they are requesting the library to purchase as well as any films they are showing at a time when students from other classes may attend. For instance, I generally show the film Kinsey, in my sexuality class and would in the future announce the time so others can attend if space in the room allows it. Again, thanks!



Leave a Reply

